Getting back into games: PES 2013 and Borderlands 2

I think for the first time in …I dont know, 10 years or even more, I think I had a period of over 4 weeks that I didnt even turn on any of my consoles. Didn’t play anything. Could have been more than a month really.

I once had this when I was much younger and I freaked out. Was I losing interest in video games? What the fuck else would I do in life if that happened?

It’s good to have a break once in a while. I had other things going on in life that gave me fulfilment and joy. Now I have sorrow in my heart again.

So now, I’m playing Borderlands 2, trying to play some Walking Dead and I got New Super Mario Bros. 2 on the 3DS. Really though, I’m mostly playing Borderlands 2 and then some PES 2013. Also, since it’s taking so damn long to wrap up this blog, I started playing Assassins Creed 3 (yeah buddy, I’m still connected like that) and also Dishonored. But let’s save those for another post.

PES 2013

I played PES hardcore on the PlayStation and the PlayStation 2, but as many of us know, the series has been rubbish on the current generation. Pro Evolution Soccer 2013 is finally an awesome game in the series, but it’s amazing it took Konami from the begining of the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 generation to get back to being good. They still do not have the technology or presentation that FIFA has, but at least the gameplay is  damn good again.

I’ve been playing quite a lot online and it seems this version of PES suits my style. The pace is relatively slow and it’s possible to hold onto the ball quite well in the midfield so one can actually construct plays pretty well. Still, through balls are too powerful of a way to get past one’s defense.

I still find it incredible how stuck in the 16-bit era some of the design is when it comes to being user friendly. The game does a poor job of selling it’s new features. The practice mode is just really tough and the controls are explained badly. Like, I have to watch a separate demo of how the controls work when pulling of a certain move. I should be seeing this animation while I try to beat the challenge. Poor design to say the least. Also the challenges are quite difficult. That’s the problem – it’s not a tutorial or practice, it’s a challenge mode.

There’s a staggering amount of different tricks and moves you can pull off, but I really cant do anything else but the R2 dribbles when playing and the usual one-two’s. Trying to put the ball through players legs etc flicks, I just cannot remember how to do them. I should.

Borderlands 2

Played the first on the PS3 and it was as Unreal Engine 3 games tend to be on that platform, not so great. Gameplay was damn good though, the sequel just pretty much fixes everything. I dont dig the driving model that much, but it works.

The feel of the gunplay is so much improved. I thought the action felt a bit flat and repetitive in the first game, but based on my experiences of the sequel, every combat scenario feels really good even if they are quite lengthy. The interface is so good, it’s so easy to start sessions with friends and random Xbox Live folks can easily get into your game. It all just flows in such a lovely fashion. I’m really digging this game.

The combat scenarios, I’m on level 24, offer enough variety so far. I can totally see myself replaying this game once I’ve completed it at some point. Hopefully in 2012.

I’ll talk about The Walking Dead, Dishonored and Assassins Creed 3 next.

 

 

 

    • Tero-Antero Hero
    • October 19th, 2012

    True words about PES, japanese stubborn way to only concentrate on the gameplay is the thing never making the game reach perfect. 2013 is still super fun. Tricks are mostly for show off, nothing too useful. Loving the knuckle shot idea though, it makes you feel you really did something for the goal when you hit the timing right and score a spinning Ronaldo-style goal (and it’s not too easy to pull off).

    • Hoping to hear you soon!
    • October 24th, 2012

    Dear Thomas,
    I have always respected your work towards gaming industry with your passionate attitude. But I ask something from you… Could you participate Pelaajacast 100? I still remember those wild shouts out of nowhere and long conversations with Rautalahti.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

